Family, Thoughtfulness, Writing

Never Be Ashamed of Calloused Hands

One of sayings Dad passed down to us from his father was, “never be ashamed of calloused hands”.  Dad has instilled in us the value of hard work.  I think that is why it has been hard for him to adjust to his new normal.  He has never been one to sit around. I am extremely grateful this Father’s Day to have my Dad.  Below are lyrics I wrote about him.

556476_10150881399055028_1234837422_n

The Palm of His Hands

He grew up in small town, a farmers son by trade

And early on he learned how a man is made

It’s not by cars or money, power or fame

But by an honest days work and in calloused hands no shame

With his hands he wiped my tears and taught me how to serve

I watched him as he touched each life in hopes of what I’d learn

And then one day I held his hand as he walked me down the aisle

And when I felt his calloused hand it made me smile

As I remember what he said.

Chorus

Never be ashamed of scarred and calloused hands

It’s the heart of a servant that truly makes a man

And love that is not seen is really no love at all

For in the palms of his hands is what he values most of all

He grew up in a small town, a carpenters son by trade

And early on he learned how a man is made

It wasn’t by wealth or position, by intelligence or fame

But by a servant’s heart of love in that truth no shame

With his hands he healed the sick and caused the blind to see

And then one day his hands were pierced on lonely Calvary

I know through this sacrifice how deeply that he cares

I look into his nail scared hands and my name is written there

As I remembered what he said

– Amy K Radford

Leave a comment